The Daily Post’s Writing Prompt ~ “I’ve Become My Parents.”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I’ve Become My Parents.”

Do you ever find yourself doing something your parents used to do when you were a kid, despite the fact you hated it back then?

My parents were old fashioned…..I hated it!

It is the difference in being a “kid” or a “teenager” and being an adult.

I remember when Elvis came on the television and sang and danced to “The Jailhouse Rock”. 

I was so excited…..the music started and Elvis started dancing and singing and then Dad came into the room….his face went white as a sheet and he changed the channel real fast. Of course, I let him know I was enjoying that show and he said some pretty offensive things (for my dad to say) about the filthy hip swinging…..gyrating body being displayed on national television. Not to mention the screaming meme song that made no sense and the band that made your ears ring. You have to understand…..my dad’s idea of music was Patsy Cline. Slow with soft music and words to love by……

Never understood why he thought that way….The Beatles came out and Dad….well…..Let me put it this way….I had a small pocket radio…I was allowed to listen to it on real low volume when Dad was at work and when he got home I put it under my pillow so he couldn’t hear the music. They say when a bull sees red it gets mean and wants to charge it…..Dad heard that music and flames shot from his eyeballs and smoke came out of his ears….you didn’t want to go there….if you knew what was good for you….and I did. 😉

You grow older and you find your taste in music changes and music changes with the times. You get married. Have kids of your own. Watch silly shows like Captain Kangaroo and Big Bird. The kids are cute singing their cute little songs. Makes you laugh.

Then one day………..the music starts……..some heavy metal, screaming meme music that hurts your ears and makes smoke come out of your ears. You scream at the top of your lungs at the child to turn that damn stuff down or off before someone goes deaf….which they already have because no one hears you and the band plays on……

You storm into their room and give them the evil eye…..you know….the one that tells them all hell is going to break loose…..they get a sour look on their face and walk slowly over with a slouch and turn the music way down….then go back to their bed and flop down looking at you with that questioning look……”Why don’t you like that music?”.  Then it hits you….full force…right between the eyes….Deja Vue…..

“I’ve Become My Parents.” 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Daily Post’s Writing Prompt ~ “I’ve Become My Parents.”

    1. So true and it never stops. Now as a Grandma I find myself getting it from both generations. The great grand kids and my children…the generation gap still prevails…hahaha we can run but we can’t hide. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

